Lil Wayne’s Mastery Makes Me Appreciate Him and Sigh at Jay-Z

Each rapper delivered a verse on “God Did” that sums them up

Andrew Ricketts
4 min readAug 29, 2022

--

I’m supposed to be a Jay-Z fan. I was raised in Brooklyn, where he was born and shouts out in his rhymes. I understand the New York experience, which is equal parts refinement and grit. Everyone from every place likes to brag about their hometown. But New Yorkers frustrate others with that bombast because the city often lives up to the hype. If you can make it here, et cetera.

I estimate it’s the reason so few like New Yorkers. It seems like we’re taking credit for a city and a history that is much larger than any single person from it. Yet, we do so with pride and sometimes delusion. I’ve been in New York for most of my life, and I can say that it’s not the greatest city. The subways deteriorate more daily. Potholes devastate local roads. The median cost of rent for a 2-bedroom apartment is the highest in the country, and prices outpace value. It doesn’t make sense to live here except for the romance.

Jay-Z is New York. He’s a legacy act who shows exclusivity in style and inclusivity in background. He reminds you where he’s from all the time. He’s brash about his accomplishments but measured in his movement. He’s also well past his heyday, and issues impossible effort persuading you…

--

--

Andrew Ricketts

I’m a Caribbean and American writer from New York. My stories are about coming-of-age, learning how to relate, and family. It’s a living, breathing memoir.